Insert Pun About Watching the Watchmen Here

by Tom Ingram

Some thoughts about the Watchmen movie, in no particular order. This is mostly made up as I go along, since I don’t feel like writing a proper review.

  • The opening sequence with the Bob Dylan song and the various flashbacks to the Minutemen era was very powerful. I’m not sure if a newcomer to Watchmen would get what’s going on, but personally I liked it.
  • Nixon made me laugh. He reminded me too much of Futurama-Nixon.
  • I was surprised at how much was lifted from the book. Faithfulness isn’t exactly the right word for it. The script was mainly written with the Ctrl, C, and V keys. This is not entirely bad, because Alan Moore wrote some good stuff, but there are things that sound good on paper but don’t sound good spoken out.
  • Rorschach was perfect. Jackie Earle Haley’s performance was great, and he looked the part, too.
  • Most of the stuff they cut out could be safely sacrificed. I’m not all that concerned that the scene where Hollis Mason dies didn’t make it into the movie, and while the Black Freighter stuff was an interesting foil to the main plot in the book, it would seem very awkward and out of place in the movie.
  • The ending they inserted instead of the giant squid worked perfectly fine. I personally thought the giant squid thing was a bit silly, and the new ending (which I’m not going to spoil here) was a little bit more realistic.
  • In the book, while it leans toward “Rorschach’s journal gets published and everything goes to hell”, the ending is really ambiguous. It’s the reader’s choice what happens next. The movie removed the ambiguity, showing the journal being read. I prefer the Kind Hearts and Coronets-style ending of the book.
  • It’s probably clear from the beginning that Veidt was the one who killed the Comedian, since the killer fights the same was Veidt does and has the same ridiculously slender build. I already knew this, having read the graphic novel, but I’m pretty sure anyone who hadn’t could at least hazard a guess.
  • The use of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” during the scene where two characters do the nasty was bizarre, to say the least.
