Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

by Tom Ingram

I don’t think you could call this a review, because it’s going to be short and to the point. I don’t mind writing an obscenely long review of something if it’s terrible, because then I can point out exactly what’s terrible about it. But this movie wasn’t, in fact, terrible. I have a love-hate relationship with the Harry Potter movies. On one hand, they’re very good attempts at translating the books to the screen. On the other hand, sometimes they can be really bad, for various reasons. In particular, I didn’t like the third or second movies. Anyway, this instalment of the series is probably the best one yet. I haven’t read the book in a while, but as I recall the movie is very faithful. Most of the things it changed were pragmatic. I only have two complaints. The first is that Harry using the sectumsempra spell is supposed to be a pivotal plot point, so when he uses it casually in combat during the cave scene, it sort of diminishes the effectiveness (on further consideration, I think that may have happened in the book, too, but that still doesn’t excuse it). The other complaint is the infamous tower scene (I won’t spoil it, but anyone who’s seen the movie or read the book knows what I mean). It didn’t play out the same way it did in the book, which ruined some of the emotional impact. It also more or less gave away spoilers about the next movie. Still, I can’t think of any movie out right now I’d rather see. Overall, if you like the Harry Potter books, you’ll probably like this movie. It’s nothing earth-shattering, but it’s a good, respectable adaptation.

