The best film I’ve seen this year

by Tom Ingram

I like my movies like I like my women–smart, good-looking, interesting, and full of action. I just got back from the theatre, where I saw District 9. If you haven’t seen it yet, you absolutely have to. I can’t possibly recommend it more highly. It’s an intelligent, thoughtful movie, but at the same time it’s never boring (coughordinarypeoplecough. Sorry, I’ve got a bit of a cold). The action scenes are good, but rather than a mindless explosion-fest, there’s a point to it all. The aliens are very well-presented, and the locations are beautifully run-down (think Half-life 2).

It would be premature to call it the best movie of 2009. After all, Sherlock Holmes hasn’t even come out yet. But without a doubt it’s up there, and it’s definitely the best sci-fi movie of the year.

Edit: I should probably note this before anyone rushes off to the cheap theatre. District 9 is a great movie, but it’s also a very violent one. The violence serves a purpose in-story, and it’s not just a gorefest for the sake of it, but many viewers will find it disturbing. This is not a movie for the squeamish, and if I catch you bringing children in I’ll kill you myself. You have been warned.

