NaNoWriMo Week 3

by Tom Ingram

I’m behind on my word count, so this’ll be kind of short. Week three didn’t go as well as week two, but it wasn’t horrible. I was a bit busy, which pushed me behind. Sometimes at the end of a long day you can’t do anything more than collapse on the bed and fall asleep. I’m working my way back up, though. At this point I should probably be back on track by Monday.

Week three was instructive. I’m learning a lot. Even if this particular work never becomes publishable, which is a distinct possibility, it will have taught me so much that I won’t mind. For one thing, every time I’ve attempted the daunting task of writing a novel before, I failed. The reason I failed is that I simply didn’t have enough material. I’ve read a lot of books, but until now I didn’t have a concept of the sheer volume of stuff that has to happen to make a novel-length story.

Also, each time I tried, I used a strict outline. I’m not sure if this is good or bad, and depending on who you ask you’ll get radically different answers. But this month, aside from a little bit of planning on October 30th (which was superseded by the end of that week), I’ve been writing completely blind. The result is a lot less coherent than if each chapter was intricately planned out, but it made me feel a lot less guilty about straying from the plan because aside from a nebulous general idea of what’s going on, there is no plan.

Also, an update about the Macbeth stuff: I had originally planned to write it up in my spare time so that something was being posted here this month. Unfortunately, I haven’t really had any spare time since I did the last one. So probably I will continue it, but it won’t be as “live” as originally intended (I’ve finished the play now, but I made a point of retaining my reactions in my head as much as possible), and it won’t continue until December. Sorry.

