NaNoWriMo 2009 Retrospective

by Tom Ingram

NaNoWriMo 2009 Winner!
Short version: I did it.

Long version: Just now, I validated my novel on the NaNoWriMo website. This is very exciting, especially when you consider that at the beginning of the month, I wasn’t sure whether I could do it.

This experience, as I’ve said before, was very instructive. I honestly don’t know if anything will ever come of this particular story, but it’s been so instructive that I’m sure whatever I attempt next will be much better. In other words, if you’re thinking about doing NaNoWriMo next year, I encourage you to do it. You’ll thank yourself when your writing skills start getting better.

I think setting deadlines and hard-and-fast goals and writing sans outline all helped me to get this done. I won’t be able to wait till next year to start my next project, but I think I’ll use a similar method. Even the illusion that I’m accountable to someone will be very helpful. I will come back to this novel and work through it with a dispassionate, critical eye and see what can be safely removed and what can’t, but not in December. I want to let it sit for a while.

By the way, now that I’m not under all the pressure, my hands are free to work on this site, as I promised in an earlier post. Exciting things are happening. Watch this space.

