Four Point Rating System

by Tom Ingram

I do a lot of reviews here, so I figured I should categorize them. I spent thirty seconds tirelessly coming up with rating categories, presented here for your enjoyment:

  1. Delightful – A treat to watch/read/what-have-you. Nothing goes in here unless I have no significant problems with it. For example, Night Watch or Inglourious Basterds.
  2. Respectable – Flawed, but still mostly good. For example, The Hurt Locker or Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
  3. Mediocre – Not bad as such, but nothing to raise it above the crowd. This is the default rating for anything, in accordance with Sturgeon’s Law. It takes concerted effort to make anything worse than mediocre. For example, the Watchmen movie.
  4. God-awful – Bad. Painfully, hilariously bad. For example, X-Men Origins: Wolverine.

For technical reasons, I can’t get these to appear in the proper order in the sidebar. Still, you know what these words mean. Stop whining.

