Yes, it’s that bad

by Tom Ingram

Sorry for the sparse updates lately. What with one thing and another, I’ve been pretty busy. I’ve been reading through some awful books recently (not any I’ve written about here, though I expected Anthem to be a lot worse than it was). I’m using the library, because there’s no way I’m parting with hard-earned money just so I can see if a book is as bad as everyone says it is. The latest one is the Anita Blake novel Narcissus in Chains.

This is the first book I’ve ever read that actually induced physical pain. Ordinary People bored the crap out of me, and I nearly threw out my back lifting a Sword of Truth book, but this is really something else. My usual reading pace, whether it’s a book I like or not, is fairly brisk–I finished Anthem and skimmed through another book about the same length in one sitting. But I just can’t bring myself to take in too much of this at once. I’m on page eighty-something (the book’s about 300 pages long, I think) after about a week of having the book. I just finished the part with the rather creepy cannibalistic sex scene that ended with the main character covered in an unspecified “fluid”. Yeah.

Some books can be enjoyed as poorly-written, unintentionally funny romps. This is not one of them. So I beg of you, unless you’re trained to use the relevant safety equipment (a barbecue starter, goggles, and an emergency copy of Small Gods), leave the handling of Anita Blake books to the pros.

