NaNoWriMo 2010: Week 1

by Tom Ingram

My current word count is 10013, and the goal is 11669 words by the end of the day. I have to say I’m doing a lot better this year than last year. I’m only just getting started, whereas last year I was halfway through the plot by this point and had to go off on wild tangents in order to make the fifty thousand words.

That’s why NaNoWriMo is so helpful, even if it doesn’t produce any useable prose. It gives novice writers like me an idea of just how much work goes into a novel. You slave away for a month, writing almost 2000 words every day, and it’s hard. The kicker is, when you’re finally finished, you don’t have a long enough ms to sell to anyone but YA publishers. You’re still not even done the first draft. I have a good feeling about this story, though, and I’m sure I can support it through ~80000 words.

Anyway, now I have to get back to slaving away. I have a long to-do list for today, and only ten more hours left. To all NaNo participants out there, good luck.

