NaNoWriMo 2010: Week 2

by Tom Ingram

Current word count is 21656. I’m playing catchup today after having written almost nothing on Saturday. I’m not having any week 2 trouble. The words are flowing free and clear, and the only problems come from having so many options at any one given time that it’s hard to decide which character the next chapter should focus on. Thus far I’m maybe three quarters of the way through part 1 of 3, so I don’t anticipate running out of plot before hitting 50000 or even going beyond.

I have noticed that my cursory research for this project has taken me to some strange websites run by scary people, and I may have made some kind of watch list simply based on the keywords I’ve had to search for. The novel is about the apocalypse, and it plays with the popular End Times mythology of the Rapture and the Antichrist. You can imagine the kinds of websites that topic might lead to. I’m reminded of this TV Tropes page and its prodigious real life section.

