A Note – 11/7/11

by Tom Ingram

I got a new hard drive over the weekend. I got my computer back when 80GB was a perfectly respectable hard drive size and I’ve been putting it off for a while. The new one is 1TB, and most likely I’ll never have to worry about space again. I have a clean installation of Windows and I’m reinstalling and reconfiguring all my programs. It’s a great feeling, like sleeping on freshly laundered sheets. Windows, especially the thrice-accursed Vista, picks up a lot of crap over the years. I’ve also had a chance to go through my documents and programs and get rid of anything I’m not using.

There are some minor issues. I seem to have lost my Battlefield 2 CD key. Some of the programs I use don’t exist anymore, and some of them have new versions that are horrible. I use Notepad++ a lot, but the latest version has decided that following the standard conventions of keyboard behaviour is for chumps; thus Shift+Home and Shift+End, which I use a lot, don’t do what they’re supposed to. I found a way to fix it, but it’s a pain in the ass.

Anyway, today’s post came late because I had to whip it up in a hurry just before putting it up, on account of not having had any computer time on the weekend. It’s up now.

