Thanksgiving Updates

by Tom Ingram

  • I apologize for the sporadic updates here–only two full-length posts since school got properly started. I’m in the middle of a particularly ardent and demanding semester, and while I end up having a lot of spare time for writing, it’s always during periods that I’m across town from my computer. I’m experimenting with writing by hand during bus rides (I’ve already done a full-length short story and a couple of other things on the bus), so this may not be an issue soon.
  • Within the next week, there will be at least one full post, a continuation of “A Lever and a Place to Stand” that will cover the remainder of Half-Life: Blue Shift. There are still six games to get through after that (with a seventh hopefully forthcoming), so the series won’t be going anywhere any time soon.
  • My project of broadening my knowledge of cinema by watching random movies involving actors or directors I like is ongoing, though of course since the summer I’ve had to considerably reduce the volume of movies. Last night I discovered that I actually have no interest whatsoever in seeing Oliver Stone’s Natural Born Killers, and I was distinctly unimpressed with A Fish Called Wanda.
  • This year I will not be doing National Novel Writing Month, and the way things are going, I may have to give up on trying to write a novel outside of the summer months for the next few years. I’ve been having trouble making the words flow with all the sudden demands on my time–even when I can get a couple hours to write, I spend much of it worrying rather than writing. Perhaps what I need is an off-season where I can work on articles and short stories at a leisurely pace and let my mind recharge. Something to think about.
  • I’ve linked to it a few times, but in case you haven’t seen it, you should really read Fred Clark’s page-by-page dissection of Left Behind. I’ve been following it for about a year now, and his brilliant, patient, and detailed critical style is captivating. He examines Left Behind and the idea of the Rapture from an evangelical Christian perspective, but his writing is friendly and understanding toward non-Christians and fascinating to anyone who might be interested academically in religion. Be warned: the series is long and on-going, and like TV Tropes you can spend a lot of time on it.

Just a couple of short updates to let you know I haven’t abandoned this place. Have a good Thanksgiving weekend.

