Boxing day books

by Tom Ingram

Went to McNally Robinson today to redeem the gift cards that seem to coalesce around me at Christmas time. I got four books:

  • Perdido Street Station (Mieville) – Because I’ve read Kraken and I’ve heard PSS is his best book
  • The Windup Girl (Bacigalupi) – I know nothing about it, but the cover looked nifty and I know that it was up for several awards (and, since Paolo Bacigalupi isn’t exactly a household name, they probably weren’t “nicest author”-type awards)
  • American Gods (Gaiman) – Believe it or not, I’ve never read anything by Neil Gaiman except Good Omens, which he co-wrote with Terry Pratchett.
  • Brief Interviews With Hideous Men (Wallace) – Read it, but I took it out from the library. I’ve been through enough of his books at this point that I should probably throw some money in the direction of his estate.

I still have to make a trip to Chapters, McNally’s more mainstream competitor, for some more. I’m currently halfway through Infinite Jest with a short book on statistics and McCarthy’s No Country For Old Men next in line, so I’m set till then.

